Asia Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC)

writer:China National Accreditation Service for Conformity Assessment time:2012-12-14

  Asia Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC) was initiated in 1992 as a forum to enable accreditation bodies to share information, harmonize procedures and develop Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRAs) to enable accredited test and inspection results to be recognized across national borders.
  The APLAC Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), establishing APLAC as a regional organisation, was signed in April 1995 by representatives of accreditation bodies from 16 economies.
  APLAC groups organisations in the Asia Pacific region responsible for accrediting testing and inspection facilities. Members are nationally recognized accreditation bodies and are usually owned or endorsed by government.
  APLAC’s principal objectives are to foster the development of competent laboratories and inspection bodies in member economies, to harmonize accreditation practices in the region and with other regions, and to facilitate mutual recognition of accredited test, measurement and inspection results. These objectives are consistent with and support the World Trade Organisation’s Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT Agreement). The TBT Agreement encourages WTO Members to recognize each other’s conformity assessment results (testing, inspection and certification), provided they are confident the assessment procedures are equivalent.
  APLAC Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA)
  APLAC multilateral Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) was signed amongst seven APLAC members in Tokyo on 19 November 1997. It is signed between accreditation bodies from APLAC members, which has passed APLAC peer-evaluation and whose accreditation system satisfies all requirements of international criteria. The MRA promotes the acceptance of testing & calibration data and reports from accredited body of an economy where signatory is located in other economy which the other signatories are located. UP to now, 23 accreditation bodies have signed APLAC MRA for Laboratory, and 10 accreditation bodies signed APLAC MRA for Inspection Body.
  Participation of China in APLAC Activities
  Since 1993, Chinese representatives have participated in APLAC meeting.
  On April 1995, the former China National Accreditation Committee for Laboratories (CNACL) and the former China Entry-Exit Inspection and Quarantine Laboratory Accreditation Committee (CCIBLAC) signed the APLAC Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) as one of 16 APLAC initiators.
  On December 1999, the former CNACL signed APLAC MRA on testing and calibration.
  On October 2001, the former CCIBLAC signed APLAC MRA on testing.
  On April 2004, the former CNAL, which was established by merging of CNACL and CCIBLAC on July 2002, continually signed ILAC MRA on testing and calibration.
  On December 2004, the former CNAL signed APLAC MRA on inspection body.
  At present, CNAS has replaced the position of the former CNAL as full member and MRA signatory in APLAC.
  For more information about APLAC, please visit APLAC website: or contact APLAC Secretariat:
  Address: 71-73 Flemington Road,North Melbourne VIC 3051,AUSTRALIA
  TEL: +61 3 9329 1633
  FAX: +61 3 9326 5148